The Cheese Trap

The Cheese Trap

The Cheese Trap By Neal D. Barnard, MD, FACC

“I don’t think I could ever give up cheese.” – Me, a few years ago.

For most of my adult life, I suffered from debilitating migraines, the worst of which brought me to the verge of wishing for death just to find relief.

I tried many things, but what finally freed me from that torture was a plant-based diet. Specifically, a diet free of cheese. I grew up thinking dairy does a body good – boy, was I wrong!

Dr. Neal Barnard knows well that dairy does a body harm!  His book The Cheese Trap reveals that cheese is loaded with dangerously high amounts of:

  • saturated fat

  • cholesterol

  • sodium

The Cheese Trap contains a wealth of scientific evidence and personal stories of people whose health improved dramatically when they gave up cheese.  Taken together, they send a strong message that cheese addiction leads to:

  • heart disease

  • diabetes

  • asthma

  • acne

  • migraines

and much more.

Take the story of Lauren, a law student, and fellow migraine sufferer.  She actually had to walk out on a job interview because an attack was coming on. Medication didn’t help.

What did help was the elimination diet Lauren followed as part of a research study conducted at Dr. Barnard’s center. One by one, she eliminated foods known to trigger migraines until her headaches were nearly or completely gone.

They didn’t return until she began eating cheese, other dairy foods, and chocolate again. The chocolate-triggered headaches, however, were manageable. Now she lives without cheese — and without migraines!

For readers of The Cheese Trap who might benefit from them, the book’s Appendix has all the elimination diet details.

But that’s not all. Dr. Barnard ends with a discussion of the wonderful, health-promoting ingredients we could substitute for dairy cheese. He even provides recipes for cheese-free plant-based comfort foods, including mac ‘n’ cheese and healthy pizza!

Thanks to the message in this book, I’m now approaching two migraine-free years. And we’re getting ready to test plant-based pizza at our original Fruitive restaurant location in Virginia Beach.

If our customers respond positively, we’ll roll it out at all our locations. I’m eating cheeseless veggie pizza as I write this – and so happy knowing I won’t have a migraine tonight!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest